Black Swan


I saw Black Swan (directed by Darren Aronofsky) last Friday when it came out and oh my god is all I can say. The movie, if you haven’t heard of it before, focuses on the extremely stressful life of a New York Ballet ballerina, Nina Sayers (Natalie Portman) who is chosen for the Swan Queen role in a production of Swan Lake. At the pinnacle of her career, Sayers begins to crack when she has difficulty finding the Black Swan half of her role in herself. As she seeks her darkness within strange things begin to happen, exacerbated by the fact that she is afraid for her role from her more relaxed, sensual understudy, Lily (Mila Kunis). That’s basically the gist. Before I say anything about it, I was wayy too fucked up and the movie was actually quite frightening because of my state. Regardless, it was a great movie with so much intensity, due in part to Portman’s excellent acting, which I think is her best in her career. Her performance was transcendent and real, and aided by the much needed comical relief of Mila Kunis, (who was impressive). I felt every emotion Nina felt, whether it was frustration, anger, or desperation. For a small film it was made beautifully and without a bad move from what I could tell. Black Swan balanced suspenseful fear and disturbing imagery with intense sexuality and beautifully orchestrated performance scenes. And it actually reminded of me of when I saw Enter the Void in that Black Swan was more of an experience rather than something I was just watching a screen. This movie and its actors deserve more than an Oscar nod. Just go see it and you’ll see.

Posted on 12/09/2010, in Film, Madness, Trippy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

